(james benedict brown) on the road

Changes

Posted in Posts by James Benedict Brown on 14 July, 2006

There are, from time to time, periods in my life (and yours too, I’m guessing) when you perceive that a undefined period is coming to an end. A certain job, a certain home, a certain group of friends, or a certain combination of all of the above. With the recent departure of Ulli back to Europe, and of Ryan to his new domestic bliss, I have been in a period of unsettled change for some time. I’ve been expecting it and preparing for it, but it was still a strange experience for it to actually happen.

A now the final pieces are in place. Charlotte, whose apartment we have been occupying, looking after and occasionally cleaning, has returned. She walked through the door just as I was flushing the toilet: isn’t it funny how reunions can often be somewhat awkwardly timed? She brought with her a friendly dog named Maya, who has gradually been accepted and maybe even welcomed into the house by the existing four feline occupants. Charlotte has commenced a massive operation of cleaning, emptying and clearing out unnecessary detritus from her home. After a long sojourn in a remote north-eastern corner of Québec, most recently spent clearing out the family home of her late sister, the time is right for a few days of energetic cleaning and removal of things that are no longer needed here.

Now it is my time to move on. I will remain here until the end of the month, and then I will be moving to another apartment near by, where Ryan and Jonathan already live. Six weeks from now, I will have finished work, and will take two weeks off for one final trip (news on that coming soon). And eight weeks from now, I will pack my suitcases, throw away my own personal collection of the junk I’ve acquired this year, and return to England.

I am on the final straight, and every hour of every day is being taken advantage of.

Tagged with:

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. charlene said, on 7 November, 2007 at 03:45

    Hi
    i am from mansonville,
    If you wanted really nice picteurs you should of went on West hilll
    I.am.just.telling.u.just.in.case.u.ever.decide.to.come.here…
    I.hope.u.had.a.nice.time.in.mansoniille

    bye.bye
    charlene bedard


Leave a Reply

