(james benedict brown) on the road

Snapshots: a walk in Mile End…

Posted in Posts by James Benedict Brown on 8 August, 2006

dscn6903a.jpg

Walking in Mile End this evening reminded me of my first days after arriving in Montréal, almost one year ago.

dscn6905a.jpg
Somehow living in the Plateau numbed me to what I was seeing, smelling and hearing around me. The summer has brought hoards of newcomers, some for year long sojourns like me, and I’m slipping into their shoes very easily: a slightly bewildered tourist, in awe of just how pretty this city is.

dscn6904a.jpg

Walking along Saint Viateur, a man sitting reading a book asked me the time. He spoke French, but with an unmistakable anglo accent. It reminded me what it is to be mistaken for a local: even when I’m meandering aimlessly with my camera or my sketchbook, I still seem to have developed the walk and attitude of someone who belongs here.

dscn6914a.jpg

As recently as a fortnight ago I felt that I had exhausted Montréal. While this year has definitely come to an end, and while I definitely want to come home for a few years in the UK, I can’t help feeling that maybe there is some sort of future for me in this country, maybe even in this city.

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

