(james benedict brown) on the road

Archibollocks in Toronto: part two

Posted in Uncategorized by James Benedict Brown on 12 August, 2006

dscn6962a.jpg

Just south on McCaul Street from the Art Gallery of Ontario is the Sharp Centre, a faculty of the Ontario College of Art and Design. When I first saw this Will Alsop-designed building, I believe I dismissed it as yet more questionable archibollocks from another grand high master of architectural onanism. Now that I’ve seen it a few times, I’m prepared to give him a bit more credit. It is, after all, a college of art in a modern and young city. I suspect Alsop’s plans to create a super-city that stretches the width of northern England might be a little foolish, but in one-off projects such as this one, I’m prepared to admit the man has some talent. It’s a landmark that creates positive urban spaces around and beneath it, and brings a touch of humour to an already colourful and lively campus.

I’d like to know if it really works on the inside though…

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

