(james benedict brown) on the road

Sheffield, 06h30

Posted in Posts by James Benedict Brown on 26 September, 2006

dscn7396a.jpg

I woke up early this morning. Old habits die hard, and despite the somewhat different body clocks that now coinhabit our room, I was awake and itching to get up at 06h30 this morning. I slipped downstairs with the big box of letters, bills and paperwork that had been collected, opened and collated during my year abroad in Québec. Inside the flimsy plastic box was a year’s worth of credit card bills, phone bills, tax statements, credit card mailings, student loan statements etc. etc. etc. It had to be sorted out sooner or later.

I made a coffee, starting sorting, and listened to the radio (thank whoever you pray to for BBC 6Music… I’m back and I promise not to leave the dial again). While the rest of the house slept on, I tore up unsolicited credit card cheques and sorted bank statements into chronological order.

The night before we had bought some more household essentials, including some Ecover laundry detergent. It’s a small step, but a big one for me, the purchase of environmentally sensitive detergent. Perhaps that’s one of the advantages of living with someone who has the same socially conscious aspirations as you: when you’re together you both feel obliged to actually follow them through. The washing had run overnight, and I’m already getting annoyed with the damp sensation left in the house when clothes are dried inside. So I took the washing basket outside to our newly cleared garden – cleared, incidentally, by our new housemate David, which was a wondrous welcome. Long may he stay.

It was a beautifully clear morning, with a blue sky above me and closely packed terraced houses all around me. I’ve not really used our back yard yet, so it’s still a new place for me. Now that the overgrowth has been cleared, it’s a large square of concrete surface, surrounded by brick walls and a low fence. It’s overlooked on both sides, but that doesn’t detract from it’s situation. It may be a bit ugly, but I hope we can get a bit more out of our summer from this yard. I put the washing out, and watched birds twirling above me. It’d like to be informed and poetic, and tell you what sort of birds they were, but I’m useless at identifying living things (humans included).

Soon, it was almost eight o’clock. Knowing the alarm clock would be going off upstairs shortly, I put the kettle on, and made a cup of tea.

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

