(james benedict brown) on the road

The curious incident of the wallet in the night time

Posted in Posts by James Benedict Brown on 29 May, 2007

dscn8566.jpg

I frequently have conversations in French that I later don’t believe to have correctly understood at all. For instance, last night, my landlady asked me if I had smelt anything burning earlier in the evening. I said no, but I couldn’t be sure. She explained there was nothing to be worried about, but a neighbour had found a wallet on fire in the basket of a bicycle parked in our communal hallway. He had put the fire out with the contents of a bottle of Coca-Cola he had with him.

I smiled politely at my landlady and wished her goodnight, and thought that I really should make more of an effort to go my French classes.

But then as I went out later that evening to find a nightcap, I discovered my French comprehension skills to be in reasonably good state. In the basket of one of the many bicycles parked in our hallway were the charred remains of a half burnt pink lady’s wallet. Charred cinema tickets had fallen onto the floor below, and the stairwell was filled with a strange aroma of burnt plastic and charred leatherette.

Tagged with: , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ulli said, on 30 May, 2007 at 14:38

    true stories always seem the least likely.

    i’m sending my love,
    ulli


Leave a Reply

