(james benedict brown) on the road

Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Posted in Posts by James Benedict Brown on 19 September, 2007

This is my third visit to Chicago. The first two times I missed out of the Chicago Architecture River Cruise because I was either in town for too short a period of time or it was too cold for the boats to be out. If you find yourself here in this beautiful city during the summer months, don’t be afraid to spend the $26 on a ticket. It’s a fantastic chance to have a whistle-stop tour of the city that invented the skyscraper.

As these photographs demonstrate, it’s also been a great chance for me to play around with my new toy, a Nikon Coolpix S10. The 6 million megapixels are good, but the 270º adjustable lens and the 10x optical zoom are even better. I’ve been able to spy on people doing jobs I never want to do…

…and at parking garages I never want to use.

I also got to goof at Donald Trump’s big project in Chicago – the 415 metre (1,362 feet) 96 storey Trump Tower, which is currently under construction.

In the ninety minutes that the cruise spent exploring the rivers of the city’s downtown, nine of these integrated window units had been slotted into place in the building’s facade. With that many to install, one every ten minutes seems to be a reasonable rate of construction.

That would be another sort of place I couldn’t see myself working. Not when the daily commute of the builders on this project involves a fifty storey ascent in an external cage lift.

Leave a Reply

